Dear Reader,

This sounds great on a resume!  “A lifelong learner with a demonstrated to quickly adapt to new technologies.”  What better to ComputerWomanUsingLaptophave on your resume for the IT field?

When I originally found that phrase and added it over 10 years ago, I may not have realized how accurate it would become.   In my chosen field, it’s a good thing I enjoy learning!  In addition to my ongoing work for New England Give Camp (six years and counting!); I just dove headfirst into becoming a certified full-stack web developer through the use of an awesome new program dubbed “Free Code Camp“.

Why not?  Does it mean a few extra hours after work at my computer?  Yes.  Do I hate it?  No.  In fact, it’s hard to tear myself away to get sleep.  Thanks to the information from a colleague at New England Give Camp, I found this awesome free program!   I just have to work through the coding homework.   I get to build an online portfolio of my work and at the end I can collaborate on projects to get work experience.

The best part?  Free Code Camp IconThe work I do will continue to benefit more non-profits.   This  program proves that the best things in life really are free.  The hardest year for me at Give Camp was the year of the Boston bombings.  Give Camp was scheduled a week afterwards and I was taking the Commuter Line into Cambridge about a block from where that had happened.  There were at least 100 people doing positive work that would immediately impact hundreds, thousands and eventually hundreds of thousands.  Little children working with Catching Joy decided that the ugliness in the world should not be allowed to continue and immediately took action to fix the world they found themselves in.  I learned that those two bombers did much less damage in proportion to the great deeds of kindness and positive things the volunteers did.

Every time I see some act of cruelty, terror, or horror sensationalized on the news, I remember the overwhelming number of people actively doing positive things that are NOT in the news.  Thanks to Free Code Camp now, I can make a difference more than once a year.

 

