Ubuntu: “I am what I am because of who we all are.” 1

For those of you familiar with Linux – the other operating system – the Ubuntu distribution (version) encapsulates this concept. For those of you who only know Windows or Mac OS, Ubuntu runs on PCs and Apples.  Linux is open source – not commercially owned and free for all and supported by the development community.

BNj2NmdCYAAU5zUI bought my first ever Apple to expand my development skills.  In addition to trying to make me a Mac convert with the fevered enthusiasm of cultists, the Apple store showed me the app that would allow me to utilize my new iPad to remotely connecCAM00019_editedt to my Windows 8 Lenovo Yoga. It was surreal. Apple and PC in harmony through TeamViewer. I took control of my PC and posted to Facebook and rebooted my PC … utilizing my iPad as a remote control. I decided to try this from my Asus Tablet. TeamViewer installed no problem, but I ran into a totally unexpected issue. Due to the fact that Windows 8 and Windows RT (Windows 8 for a tablet) are both touch-controlled and both operate the same way, I could only get into my tablet functions.   The tablet intercepted the touch commands and none of it made it through to my PC.  I eventually outsmarted the tablet to control my pc, but it was awkward at best.  The iPad worked much better because the touch functions on the iPad work differently than the PC. The differences actually made the functioning possible — not the similarities.

Generally any software / hardware compatibility issues are non existant or very low if you stick with one one manufacturer — hence the secret behind Apple’s stable platforms. Also, that is why all Microsoft software is as easy as Mac software to install and use when its all new and staying within Microsoft. In this case, I happened upon an emergent property. Ubuntu. I am what I am because of who we are. Totally unexpected capabilities based on the combination of separate components. I wonder if this is the start of something new or a one-time fluke? Time will tell.

References:

1. From a definition offered by Liberian peace activist Leymah Gbowee.

