Dear Reader,

Go Daddy!

I just picked up web hosting. Who did I go with? GoDaddy, of course.

Over the years, every phone call I ever put into them ended well.   I never got a dumb person on the other end of the phone and they were actually able to provide me near-expert level information about what I needed to do and provide for me the exact information I needed.   Additionally, they gave me valuable account information necessary to running the business for a company that I supplied in-house technical support.

I have had the misfortune of doing business with other providers while working for other people.   The tech support ranges from non-existant to email only to lacking in basic technical skills which cost me hours and days and loss of expensive business time.   I told one competitor that I would pay the higher rate of fee for service rather than switch to half the cost.   Besides, $8 / month hardly seems outrageous.

So I got to wondering… where did their name come from?   A cute idea from inside the company before they were famous. [1]

What I didn’t know was the following statistics that make me even more of a loyal customer than before:

  1. Go Daddy has grown to become the largest ICANN-accredited registrar on the Internet.
  2. In 2007 and 2008, the company lobbied in favor of legislation that would crack down on unscrupulous online pharmacies and child predators.
  3. In March 2010 Go Daddy stopped registering .CN domains (China) due to the high amount of personal information that is required to register in that country.
  4. In 2010, Go Daddy ranked as one of three finalists in the BBB of Great Arizona Business Ethics Awards. BBB’s Board of Directors and Foundation established the BBB Business Ethics Awards to recognize those firms whose business practices and related activities exemplify the BBB’s mission and principles and to ensure the marketplace remains fair and honorable.[

There was much more in the Wikipedia article than what I’ve put here.
Notes:

1. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Go_Daddy

