Dear Reader,

The last photo

Thanksgiving 2010, three months before Walter passed

For those of you who follow my blog, you may remember my lighthearted posts wherein I used my father as the examples of human nature and technology.  Post1 and Post2. You may have seen the mention of my father’s impending bypass surgery.   Unfortunately, my father did not survive the week after the surgery.   I will have ample opportunity to express my grief at the two memorial services in his honor and in the months to come.   In this forum, I would rather honor the good memories.

An Electrical Engineer is a unique parent.   I can honestly say that my father is probably the single reason I am a computer programmer today.   I remember when he excitedly brought home the Commodore VIC 20 and I began programming in BASIC.

I remember when my Trigonometry teacher had to go home and solve a problem that he couldn’t work out in class.   I remember taking the problem to my father who solved it and taught it to me.   I went in the next day, solved the problem for the class and taught the teacher.

Then there was the dead seagull in the freezer.    My father had a life-long love of art.   He wanted to have the seagull stuffed and mounted so he could draw it.   He brought it home and put it in the freezer only to find out it was a protected bird and had to be turned over to a university.

Only an Electrical Engineer can rewire household electrical systems to operate a kiln to fire clay at apporximately 2,0000 F.  That was cool!

My father will always be remembered to all who knew him for his gentleness, his sense of humor, his patience, and his kindness.   It brings much comfort to me to know how much he was loved.

Walter Livant passed away on February 3, 2011 at the age of 83.    He is survived by myself, my two younger brothers, six grandchildren, and three great-grandchildren.

His Obituary can be found HERE

