Dear Reader,

One… two… three…. fifty… one hundred and twenty….

over and over and over again………

Ugh.

For those of you who have been following, I began my coursework on
June 28th (2010) to prepare to get my MCTS Certifications. For those of you who don’t speak “technical”; a MCTS Certification would mean that I have Microsoft’s approval to officially create Websites and Databases for Windows Computers.

I now have a more intimate knowledge of a Windows computer than I ever thought I would get or need. (Anyone need to know which stream would benefit the most from buffering?? OR how to create a socket inside a computer??)

However, thanks to all that work I did with threads (see previous blog), I have no problem answering any of those questions.

I finished the classes and labs (hands-on programming) to begin taking the practice tests (aka MeasureUp Exams) on October 12 (2010). My score started at 38. Over the course of 2 1/2 weeks, I finally ended with a 100.

“Now What? Am I ready to take the Certification Exam?” If that’s what you are asking, that’s what I asked.

My dear teacher, Patrick, said “No”. More studying and preparation. Ugh.

This is akin to the horror of Calculus in college. Somehow the joy of Mathematics was transmuted into the nightmare of taking multiple choice exams wherein the entire class failed and the scores were then scaled to get a mean.

Stay tuned to find out how this real-life drama unfolds.

Will she pass the first time? Will she be out begging for money to retake the test? Will she broadcast the Bat Signal for help?

Word to the wise: If you aren’t obsessed with programming computers, don’t go into this field. You will be gouging out your eyes with an icepick.

